General Information


The 1810 federal census included the new state of Ohio, admitted in 1803, bringing the total to seventeen states in the Union. The 1810 census also included the District of Columbia, separated in the census schedules from Virginia and Maryland for the first time. In addition, six territories in the public domain were enumerated. Georgia ceded its western lands to the federal government in 1802. These were added to Mississippi Territory, doubling its size. In 1804, two new territories were created from the Louisiana Purchase: Louisiana Territory (renamed Missouri Territory in 1812); and Orleans Territory, which would become the state of Louisiana in 1812. The remainder of the old Northwest Territory left by the creation of the state of Ohio and a part of Indiana Territory were combined to become Michigan Territory in 1805. To complete the changes for the decade, Illinois Territory was created in 1809, reducing Indiana Territory to its present boundaries except it still included the northern peninsula of present-day Michigan.




The 1810 census format included the name of a head of household, the number of free white males and free white females in specific age categories, the name of a slave owner, and number of slaves owned by that person.


Census losses


1810 district-wide census losses include those for the District of Columbia, Georgia, Indiana Territory, Michigan Territory, Mississippi Territory, Louisiana (MO) Territory, New Jersey, and Tennessee. Partial losses included Illinois Territory, which had only two counties (Randolph is extant, St. Clair is lost), and Ohio, all lost except Washington County.




The National Archives and Records Administration microfilm for the 1810 census is contained on 71 rolls of 35mm film, series M252.


Gooderson Entries


No records of Goodersons have been found in those parts of the 1810 census that have survived.


Back to US Census Menu