General Information


By 1820 six new states had been formed bringing the total to twenty-three states in the Union. The six were: Louisiana, admitted in 1812; Indiana in 1816; Mississippi in 1817; Illinois in 1818; Alabama in 1819; and Maine in 1820. Orleans Territory became the state of Louisiana in 1812, and Louisiana Territory was renamed Missouri Territory the same year. Michigan Territory spanned the northern portion of the old Northwest Territory north of the states of Ohio, Indiana, and Illinois. A new Arkansas Territory was created from the southern area of Missouri Territory in 1819.




The 1820 census format included the name of a head of household, the number of free white males and free white females in specific age categories, the name of a slave owner, the number of slaves owned by that person, the number of male and female slaves by age categories, and the number of foreigners (not naturalised) in a household.


Census losses


1820 district-wide census losses include those for Arkansas Territory, Missouri Territory, and New Jersey. Partial losses were for over half the counties of Alabama. In 1820, Tennessee had two federal court districts, one with a U.S. Courthouse in Nashville, the other in Knoxville. The original censuses returned to Washington were from the Nashville district only, representing the western two-thirds of the state. The schedules for the twenty eastern counties enumerated within the Knoxville 1820 district were not received in Washington and are presumed lost.




The National Archives and Records Administration microfilm for the 1820 census is contained on 142 rolls of 35mm film, series M33.


Gooderson Entries


No entries for the surname Gooderson have so far been found in the 1820 census.


Back to US Census Menu